23rd Siargao International Surfing Cup in Cloud 9

115 international surfers will compete the 23rd Siargao International Surfing Cup in Cloud 9, Catangnan, General Luna, Surigao del Norte.

Based on the World Surf League Seeding List for the 2017 Siargao Cloud 9 Cup, the participants came from Hawaii, Spain, France, Japan, Peru, Indonesia, Costa Rica, USA, Australia, Brazil, South Africa, Mexico, Portugal, Chile, Argentina, New Zealand, Greece, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Philippines.

Provincial Tourism Officer Ivonnie Beltran Dumadag said that last year, there were only 74 competitors. This year’s competition is upgraded to WSL QS3000 and professional surfers are coming in because they get biggest points in the cloud9 circuit.

The opening ceremony will be at 4 o’clock this afternoon (Philippine Time) with House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez who will ceremonially break the surf board.

Photo courtesy of Philippine Surfing Championship Tour where 3rd placer John Mark Tokong of Gen. Luna coming out of the barrel and Philmar Alipayo in his high flying aerial that made him hit a big score to the championship of the recently concluded 19th National Surfing Cup.

Source: Rpn Dxks Surigao

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *